Die Arbeitsprobe. The Activity Challenge.

by Sirje


Ok, it’s actually more like a Working Rehearsal, but I get a kick out of off-target translations on the Leo online dictionary. Try it sometime for a giggle. I used to earnestly try to teach some of their silliest entries to my husband as “proper English,” with some colorful additions of my own, but he caught on to me pretty quickly, and now he speaks beautiful English.

Fortunately, my proudest achievement has stuck: “tootsies.” He always calls feet tootsies now. Ha ha ha. Oh my goodness. Thank you, thank you, earlier Sirje.

No, I know it’s not funny. It’s really no small thing to learn a whole other language. I’ve done it! Many times!

And, when you’re on your second, third, or even fourth language (can I still count French? even though when I am in France I basically grunt and point at croissants?) SOME people, who shall go nameless, might possibly, just maybe, have very very very minor lapses in certain situations, like calling difficult things devils, or talking about calmness when someone asks me about my water bottle.

Then everyone sort of stands there for a moment.

And then we all go on.

For example, oh, I don’t know, in an Arbeitsprobe.

Don’t get me wrong, I speak German! I speak it and I understand it. I thoroughly accomplish communication. But I am certainly not above a charming mistake now and then.

I think that my language-speaking center might be accidentally wired to my Arbeitsprobe center, which is good to know. Frankly, there was a lot going on. Conductors, directors, general managers, props, pianos, stiletto heels, monkeys, cha-cha-lines, talking robots, zebras flying through the air and doing jumping jacks! It was a lot to keep track of.

And I did it all quite well, thank you very much. Therefore I believe it is perfectly fine to make up new German words for describing musical ideas.

Yes I did.

And no I’m not telling.

